Step into Christmas

I have come to the realisation that so far this year my Christmas capers have all revolved around the deceptively sparkly and often torturous jungle better known as the Great British High Street.

The first was the Santa Dash last week where over 650 Santas descended upon Plymouth City Centre to complete a charity fun run. Words cannot describe how bizarre this spectacle was to behold. Jolly old Saint Nick has never before appeared in so many different shapes, sizes and ages. Personally, I found it very difficult to breathe with a cotton-wool beard and on a few occasions I accidentally swallowed some beardy clumps, much to the amusement of the Santas either side of me. However it was all for charity and the mince pie and medal at the end came as a most welcome reward!

A sight to behold: 650 Santas take to the streets of Plymouth

Possibly the cutest moment of the Santa Dash!

The Best Santas in Town: Kathleen, Amy, Sarah, Ryan, Caroline

On Tuesday I went to the Christmas Late Night Shopping in Totnes which saw the high street steeped in mistletoe and lined with festive buskers who serenaded shoppers as they perused the stalls selling all sorts of handmade goods. The whole town was buzzing and I definitely recommend going if only to end the night by sipping delicious mulled wine in the cosy setting of the Barrel House.

Totnes high street full of festive cheer

Working my way up country I found myself in London this weekend braving the absolutely heaving shopping mecca that is Oxford Street. It was somewhere between the West End Christmas Carol-A-Thon and the sexy santas prancing around outside McDonalds that I began to lose my sanity. Unfortunately Oxford Street provides no such respite as the Barrel House in Totnes so I had to make do with a brief pit stop in the John Lewis cafe.

To remedy my excessive high street visits I intend to involve myself in some wholesome carolling and roasting of chestnuts by the fire with loved ones.  Just after I finish ordering all my presents online…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

